Tuesday, April 12, 2011

SCAC Top 20 Moments in Men's Golf

April 22-23, 1994
Played at Atlanta National Golf Club in Alpharetta, Ga., Trinity University wins the 1994 SCAC Men’s Golf Championship, breaking a 24-year-old conference record for largest margin of victory with a 40-stroke win over runner-up Sewanee-The University of the South. In the longest playoff to determine medalist honors in SCAC history, Trinity's Derek Birkeland defeated teammate Tom Ming on the fourth playoff hole to earn SCAC Golfer-of-the-Year.
May 12-15, 2003
For the first time in league history, the SCAC sends more than one team to the Division III Men's Golf Championship. SCAC champion Oglethorpe University is joined by Trinity University in the field of 23 teams at the 2003 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships in Delaware, Ohio. On the final day of competition, Oglethorpe shoots the second-lowest round of the day (287) to jump from 11th place after three rounds to finish in sixth while Trinity, playing in its first NCAA golf championship in 28 years, finishes in 18th after a final-round 318.

Read the whole list here: